Huge blow for South Africa with two key pacers ruled out of ICC World Cup – SUCH TV

Huge blow for South Africa with two key pacers ruled out of ICC World Cup – SUCH TV
  • PublishedSeptember 21, 2023


South Africa suffered a major blow to their ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 campaign as pace bowlers Anrich Nortje and Sisanda Magala were ruled out of the tournament after failing to clear a fitness test.

Both pace bowlers were named in South Africa’s initial 15-member squad for World Cup 2023 in India and also featured in the recently concluded home ODI series against Australia. South Africa came from behind to win the series 3-2 after losing the first two games.

However, both players failed to play their part in South Africa’s series victory as Anrich Nortje played only one match and was ruled out after bowling five overs due to a back injury, while, Sisanda Magala managed to bowl only four overs in the third ODI after feeling discomfort in his previously injured knee.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo and pace bowler Lizaad Williams as replacements for the injured pacers.

Head coach of South Africa Rob Walter expressed his disappointment over Nortje and Magala missing out on the mega-event.

“It’s hugely disappointing for Anrich [Nortje] and Sisanda [Magala] to be missing out on the 50-over World Cup. Both are quality players that add immense value to the Proteas. We sympathize in their omission and will continue to provide all the necessary support as they work towards their return to competitive action,” said Rob Walter.

“This provides an opportunity for Andile [Phehlukwayo] and Lizaad [Williams] on the global stage. Both players have been part of our winter programs as well as having represented South Africa in the recent white-ball tour against Australia. They offer great skill sets and we’re excited to have them complete the 15-player squad for this year’s World Cup.”

South Africa will depart for India on September 23 and will kick off their World Cup 2023 campaign against Sri Lanka on 7 October at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

South Africa’s updated World Cup squad

Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams


Source link