Pakistani runners shine at Chicago marathon | The Express Tribune

Pakistani runners shine at Chicago marathon | The Express Tribune
  • PublishedOctober 9, 2023



In a remarkable display of talent and determination, a significant contingent of Pakistani runners made their mark at the prestigious Chicago World Major Marathon on Sunday, garnering attention for their outstanding performances on the international stage.

Leading the pack of Pakistani participants was Nazir Nayani, who emerged as the fastest Pakistani runner, completing the grueling marathon distance in an impressive 2 hours and 56 minutes. His exceptional performance showcased his dedication and skill in long-distance running.

Following closely behind Nayani was Faisal Shafi, who secured the second position among Pakistani runners with a commendable time of 3 hours and 8 minutes. Shafi’s strong finish highlighted the depth of talent within the Pakistani running community.

The Chicago marathon also witnessed the participation of female Pakistani runners, with Huma Rehman leading the charge. Rehman displayed her prowess by finishing the marathon in an impressive 3 hours and 17 minutes, a testament to her commitment to the sport.

Also read: Pakistani runners make waves at Berlin Marathon

One of the standout achievements of the event came from Fahad Mukhtar, who completed his six-star run by participating in the Chicago marathon. Earning the coveted six-star medal in marathon running is a remarkable accomplishment and a testament to Mukhtar’s dedication and endurance.

Notably, Rehman Azhar, an anchorperson for Express News, joined the ranks of the Pakistani participants and achieved a personal best marathon time of 3 hours and 36 minutes. Azhar’s commitment to both journalism and marathon running is a testament to his multifaceted abilities.

The list of Pakistani participants who demonstrated exceptional performances in the Chicago World Major Marathon included Prem Kumar, Nosherwan Ali, Jehanzeb Mughal, Danish Elahi, Bacha Hussain, Fawad Karim, Saifullah, Taha Ghafoor, Omar Malik, Azeem Sarwar, Jamal Khan, Salman Ilyas, Omar Malik, Salman Khan, Rafay Zahid, Ammar Zia, Babar Ghias, Ali Asghar Aamir, Kaukab Sarwar, Amy Raza, and Rabia Naeem.

Each of these runners contributed to Pakistan’s representation on the global running stage, showcasing their passion and talent for the sport.


Source link