Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat first against India – SUCH TV

Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat first against India – SUCH TV
  • PublishedSeptember 17, 2023


Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first against India in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Sunday.

Sri Lanka made one change with leg-spinner Dushan Hemantha replacing the injured Maheesh Theekshana.

Meanwhile, Indian captain Rohit Sharma said that everyone’s back after the rest in the last game, however, Axar Patel is injured which is why Washington Sundar has replaced him.

Sri Lanka, who cohosted the tournament with Pakistan, came in as underdogs but have made their 11th Asia Cup final and a have chance to clinch their seventh title.

The island nation snuck into the Super Fours with a dramatic win over Afghanistan and have kept up their momentum despite losing to India in the Super Fours.

India began with a washed-out match in Pallekele against Pakistan, whose fast bowlers rattled their top order and bowled them out for 266 in the only innings possible due to rain.

Big guns Virat Kohli and returning batter KL Rahul hit back with centuries in their next outing against Babar Azam´s team to rack up 356-2 and crush Pakistan by 228 runs.

India then prevented a gutsy Sri Lankan chase to book their place in the final.

Bangladesh ended India´s unbeaten run in the 50-over tournament after edging them out by six runs in Friday´s last Super Four match.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana



Source link